From Firm Founder Sheryl Axelrod:

My service to the Temple Law Alumni Association dates back to 2003. I founded and co-chaired TLAA’s Women’s Initiative, its events, and the TLAA Women’s Champion Award, the TLAA Diversity Committee, its events, and the TLAA Diversity Leadership Award, the TLAA Admission Ceremony, and a successful multi-year Continuing Legal Education (CLE) course. On top of that, I co-chaired Law Day events, Happy Hours, and social events.  Before becoming President of TLAA, I was awarded the organization’s 2009 Distinguished Service Award for my volunteerism on behalf of Temple alumni.

I was the 4th woman president in TLAA’s nearly 100 year history.  When I was President of TLAA, I supervised and coordinated all programming for Temple Law graduates, from CLEs to award ceremonies, from networking events, sporting events, and luncheons, to panel presentations. I organized and ran all TLAA Executive Committee meetings, too.

The photographs to the left provide a glimpse into the scope of the community impacted by these efforts.  We host a number of networking events. Included among them was a cooking class at La Cucina. The photo at the top is from that class.

The bottom three photos were taken at TLAA Admission Ceremonies.  Each Fall, we host an Admission Ceremony and reception for the Temple Law graduates who have passed the Bar Exam.  Each graduate is invited to attend with their guests for free.  We invite a distinguished panel of judges who are graduates of the Law School to preside over the event, and invite the graduates and their guests to take pictures with the judges afterwards. The third photo down shows how large an audience comes.

Pictured at the second photo from the top, from the 2012 Admission Ceremony, are, from left to right: Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas Judge Annette Rizzo and President Judge Pamela Dembe, Temple Law Dean JoAnne Epps, Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas Judges Glynnis Hill and Sandra Mazer Moss, and me.

The third photo down was taken at the 2012 Admission Ceremony.  President Judge Pamela Dembe (standing) presided with (to her left) Judges Moss (retired), Hill, and (although not captured in the frame) Rizzo (retired).

The bottom photo is from the 2009 Admission Ceremony.  Pictured, from left to right, are: now Provost JoAnne Epps standing next to me and to my right, former Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Justice Seamus McCaffrey, and Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas Judges Jaqueline Allen, Ann Butchart, and Sandra Mazer Moss (retired).

Judge Moss is now President of TLAA.